For more than two decades, The Herald Journal has been recognizing the female and male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

This year will be no different.

High school athletics garner a lot of interest in the valley, which is understandable. Keeping up with the many prep sports and athletes can be a challenge, but coaches, parents and athletic directors at the schools help the paper out a lot.

The female and male recipients for the 2018-19 school year will be profiled later this week in the newspaper and online. Once again deciding on who should get these awards was very tough.

With seven high schools in the HJ’s coverage area, it makes it even more difficult to choose just one female and one male.

Athletic directors at each high school in the valley were contacted and asked to nominate a top male and female senior athlete for this award. Preston High School decided not to nominate any athlete this year.

There are so many good athletes in Cache Valley and many are doing just as well in the classroom. In fact, this year the six nominees in each gender had an impressive combined grade point average of 3.862, which was a slight improvement from a year ago. The girls were a little better with a 3.878, compared to the boys 3.849.

While multi-sport stars are encouraged, it’s not a must. This year all 12 nominees had played at least two sports during their high school careers. Eight had at least three sports under their belt as seniors.

As is always the case, a good amount of time was spent debating the merits of each candidate. Performance in their respective sport, GPA and involvement in the community were all taken into account. It has never been easy deciding the HJ Scholar Athletes of the Year.

Here is a list of those nominated: The females included Abby Israelsen (Green Canyon), Nya Laing (Logan), Ana Tidrow (Mountain Crest), Halle Livingston (Ridgeline), Kristen Schumann (Sky View) and Jaycee Robinson (West Side). The males were Dewey Panter (Green Canyon), Jonny Parkinson (Logan), Kordell Welch (Mountain Crest), Chance Parker (Ridgeline), Jonathan Bergeson (Sky View) and Enoch Ward (West Side).

The story on the female winner will be in Friday’s edition of the paper, while the story on the male will run in Saturday’s paper.


Shawn Harrison is the sports editor at The Herald Journal. He can be reached at or 435-792-7233.