Local students in northern Box Elder County recently received the Kiwanis Club’s annual Hope of America Award, which is given to students who exemplify leadership and academic excellence throughout the school year.

Fifth graders and sixth graders are chosen based on those skills and honored at the end of year awards ceremonies.

Garland Elementary School honored two fifth graders as Hope of America winners. Those students for 2019 are Dixon Croney and Josie Hansen.

This year’s Hope of America recipients from Fielding Elementary School are Hailee Richards and Chase Grover.

Alice C. Harris Intermediate School in Tremonton had seven Hope of America winners from their sixth grade class for 2019. Those students include Brooklyn Capener, Madie Grover, Aubree Fry, Everett Larson, Bridget Adams, Wyatt Koyle and Canyn Peterson.

This year, Beckham Reese and Qiana Khim were named North Park Elementary School’s 2019 Hope of America recipients.

McKinley Elementary School’s Ava Stanger and Korver Riley also received the Hope of America award.